Mascara Monday – Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded

Welcome to another edition of Mascara Mondays! I’m trying out different formats for this, to see what works best, so bear with me over the coming weeks.)

This week I’ll be talking about Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded in Very Black.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded 01

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded in 004 Very Black

The Scandaleyes Reloaded is essentially the Scandaleye mascara from before, but with a new formula and new, denser brush.

I never tried the previous version of Scandaleyes, so I can’t compare the 2, but since this is likely a brand new formula, I doubt very much that it’s an extension of the original version. But I’m not a cosmetics chemist, what do I know?

It comes in 3 colours: Black, Very Black and Extreme Black. (Can anyone explain to me why they needed 3 shades of black in the first place? Wasn’t the original black black enough? If not, why is it called black? And I’ve said black so many times, it’s lost all meaning…)

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded 02

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded mascara in original packaging.

This mascara has some lofty claims, such as Extreme Volume, Extreme Wear and Easy to Remove. They’re also touting the new brush shape of the wand, which makes everything come together.

So, let’s answer these claims one at a time, shall we?

Extreme Volume: I’ll give them this one. This mascara does give you great volume, and you can definitely layer this up to Extreme volume, but I wear glasses and I don’t like my lashes to brush my lenses, so I don’t tend to go that extreme with my mascaras. 🙂 However, this does give me great lashes, and they hold their curl, unlike a previous mascara *cough*JoeFresh*cough* that left them slightly flattened by days end.

Extreme Wear: This is always where mascaras tend to fail for me. The packaging says ‘humidity-proof, smudge-proof, sweat-proof’, and I’ll give is A for effort. It didn’t crumble as much as some of my other mascaras have, but it wasn’t locked in place all day. I had small amounts of black dust under my eyes by the end of the day, and all I did was go to work where it’s so dry I regularly get static shock from handling product.

Easy to Remove: I do have to agree with this one. When I was removing my makeup at the end of the day, the mascara was easier to take off that other brands. I use a cleansing balm to obliterate my makeup, but mascara is always that last hold out for me, even once the panda eyes set in. The Scandaleyes Reloaded came off much easier than previous formulas, yet watery eyes did not cause it to prematurely disintegrate.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded 04

Rimmer Scandaleyes Reloaded brush

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded 03

Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded brush (left) vs CoverGirl SuperSizer brush (right)

Finally, the brush: I do have to say that I like the brush on this one. It’s dense, but not so dense that I can’t get my lashes coated with mascara, and while it’s a larger brush, it’s not ‘poke your eye out’ big. It’s easy to get the product on all you lashes, both inner and outer corder, and while the lower lashes are trickier (as they are), it was still doable.

Overall, I do like this formula, and would recommend it, especially if you have less oily eye areas than I do, as that is likely the main reason so many mascaras crumble on me.

Days Worn: 5/7

Rating: 8/10

Next Week… e.l.f. Lengthening and Volumizing Mascara

Have you tried out this mascara? Did it work for you? Which shade of black did you like best?

As always, let me know if there are any drugstore mascaras you want me to try out.

— Ella

Follow me on Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Mascara Monday – Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded

  1. I’ve found Rimmel mascaras to smudge on me. A long time ago I did like one of their earlier ones that had a comb applicator – it gave amazing length but sadly I think it got discontinued!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

