Mascara Monday: Annabelle Full Blast Mascara

It’s another episode of Mascara Monday!

This week I put to the test the Full Blast Mascara from Annabelle in Black.

Annabelle FullBlast 01

Annabelle Full Blast Mascara in Black

Annabelle Cosmetics is a Canadian company under the umbrella of Groupe Marcelle Inc, based out of Quebec. The Annabelle brand has been around since 1967, and is all about empowering women to express themselves through their concept of Colour Power.

Annabelle cosmetics are only available in Canada, though their website does ship to the continental US.

I have tried a couple of their products in the past, my all-time favourite being a waterproof lipliner in Terracotta that was sadly discontinued about 2 years ago. I went through about a dozen of these over the years, as it paired perfectly with Revlon’s Velvet Rose lipstick (another item I went through countless tubes of). I do have some backups still sealed, so all is not lost.

I have been hesitant to try out their mascaras, as I have never had much luck with mascaras in general, but here we go.

Annabelle FullBlast 02

Annabelle Full Blast Mascara, tube & wand

Claims: The website states that this mascara will give you 9x more volume “with a brush that separates, coats, and curls each lash to voluptuous perfection.” … with 3 coats.

Where to Buy: I purchased this one at Shoppers, but you can literally get this anywhere that sells makeup in Canada (any drugstore, Walmart, beauty store, grocery store with a beauty department). It cost me around $7-$8, though on the Annabelle website it’s $6.95, which tells me what Shoppers’ markup looks like. As stated above, the website also ships to the continental US, for anyone outside of Canada who wants to try out the brand’s range.

Description: The tube is a standard bullet-shaped tube with black & white labelling, and what’s nice is that you can stand it up on it’s end, unlike some other similar shaped mascaras (I’m looking at you, Maybelline).

Annabelle FullBlast 04

Close-up of wand – Annabelle Full Blast Mascara

Wand: The wand is pretty standard, with a natural bristle wand that’s easy to use. It looks like a basic brush in size and shape, and the bristles are separated enough that you can easily get most lashes covered fairly quickly and evenly, which is often a challenge with brushes that are more densely packed (see previous review on Joe Fresh here).

Annabelle FullBlast 03

Comparison of brush sizes and shapes; left – Joe Fresh Lash Plump Volumizing Mascara wand; right – Annabelle Full Blast Mascara wand

Formula: The formula on this mascara is almost like a thick mousse texture, but is also very wet. It takes a few minutes for it to dry completely, which allows you to go back and add another layer without getting crunchy lashes. Once it has dried, you still don’t get that crunchy lash feeling, as they still feel soft and flexible, just slightly thicker due to the product coated on them.

Application: This mascara was very easy and quick to apply. My lashes were coated nicely in mascara fairly quickly, with no clumps or spiky lashes to see. I was able to get the outer and inner corner lashes, and the bottom lashes were also very easy to get. Also, NO MESS! It was nice. I only put on 1-2 coats, though the website says you should do 3, but I don’t have time for that in the mornings, and 1-2 coats was more than enough for the volume I wanted, especially for a work day.

Wear Time: This did not last all that long. I usually got about 3-4 hours in before I noticed it starting to flake off in the outer corners, and that was with oil absorbing powder under my lower lash line. It did flake and smudge, both upper and lower lashes, and after a full 8-9 hour day, it was flaking off under my entire eye, not just under my lash line. With my dark circles it’s often hard to tell if it’s the dark circles, shadow from my glasses or the mascara that’s flaking, but in this case it was really easy to tell it was the mascara.

At the end of the day: Every day I wore this, I had massive fallout. I even started wiping the fallout away a couple of times throughout the day, and still I arrived home with black dust under my eyes. My lashes didn’t look flat, like last week’s Joe Fresh mascara, and in fact they still looked voluminous and black at the end of the day, but there was still a lot of fallout. One day, I even forwent using any on my bottom lashes (it was a weird eye look, let me tell you), and I still had a lot of flaking and black dust under my eyes.

Final Thoughts: I like the brush, and the look it gave me, but fallout and flaking is always going to be my make or break criteria for mascara. As this one crumbled so easily, I wouldn’t recommend this one, unless you don’t do a lot of blinking during the day???

Days Worn: 4 of 7

Rating: 3/10

Next Week … Rimmel Scandaleyes Reloaded – promises to be sweat-proof, smudge-proof and humidity-proof!

Until next time.

— Ella K

 

 

5 thoughts on “Mascara Monday: Annabelle Full Blast Mascara

  1. How disappointing! I’ve used several of Annabelle’s mascaras and they were hit and miss. The one I like the most was Big Show, the rest weren’t worth writing about. I know they relaunched their whole mascara line recently, so I’d been curious about some of the new ones – I did buy the Expandable one but haven’t used it yet. I guess I’ll stay away from this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

