Update: Unexpected Haulage – 3 Weeks Later

I’ve seen this type of post on a couple of YouTube channels and thought it was a great idea, so here I go.

Three weeks after my Unexpected Haulage, here’s how the products I purchased are faring, and my thoughts on them. (Fair warning: this is fairly long for an update post.)

feb-haul-03

Herb Day 365 (acerola); Belif The true cream – aqua bomb, Hungarian water essence & creamy cleansing foam moist.

Herb Day 365 Cleansing Foam (acerola) – My overall feelings on this are ‘not bad’. It has a creamy/foamy texture, if that makes any sense, and does foam up quite nicely. The smell is nice, but if I use it in my nightly routine and remove it with a washcloth, there’s a weird film left on my skin. It doesn’t do anything, but it’s not really pleasant. After that first time, I started using it in the shower for those few times I wash my face in the shower, and it doesn’t leave my face feeling ‘squeaky clean’ which is a good thing, as that translates to ‘dry and tight’ 3 minutes later. My skin feel comfortable until I’m able to get some moisturizer on my face, and that’s really all I need. I’ve relegated this to a shower cleanser, and don’t foresee using it routinely outside of that unless I’ve run out of other cleansers. Still, for $6 I’ll take it.

Belif The true cream – aqua bomb – I really do love this. It’s a pale blue gel-cream, and I use it 2-3 times a week just before bed. It sinks in beautifully, and only leaves a slight sticky feeling on my skin – about the same as any other nighttime moisturizer I’ve used, so I can live with it. There’s a slight scent to it, but it doesn’t linger and isn’t enough to cause me any problems. I do realize there’s alcohol in there, likely used to make it sink in easier/quicker, but there’s so much added moisture/hydrating ingredients in this cream that it doesn’t dry out my skin, and it makes my skin look fabulous in the morning.

The gwp of the Creamy Cleansing Foam Moist and the Hungarian Water Essence are nice to try out and saved me forking over $ for them, but so far aren’t wowing me. The cleanser is ok as far as ‘cleansers that foam but don’t contain SLS/SLES’, but I wouldn’t spend money on it. The serum is one I’ll have to test out more in the summer when my skin truly hits its oily season and doesn’t like any extra product. It’s a super lightweight formula, truly water-like in a way other hydrating serums aren’t, but I’m currently working my way through 3 hydrating serums.

mac-lipstick-reto

MAC Satin Lipstick – Retro & swatch

MAC Satin Lipstick (Retro) – So far, I love this lipstick. I’ve worn it a couple of times, and the brown undertone works great with a more neutral look I tend to wear for work. I’m currently working my way through a couple of products that I’m about half a cm away form finishing, so this is on the shelf for now, and not in my pocket for everyday wear. But it’s still a great colour and I’m glad I bought it.

feb-haul-02

Essie Gel Couture nail polish in Gala-vanting (350) & Top Coat (00); Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortigying Hydrator.

Essie Gel Couture (Gala-vanting & Top Coat) – The combination of these 2 works great for me. The colour is everything I want in a nail polish, and the top coat is nice and durable. I got a solid 7 days wear out of this, and the only reason I took it off it because a nail got caught in some packing tape at work and I lost half a nail of polish. Overall, a good, long-lasting polish and top coat, though I do wish the top coat was a quicker drying one.

Clinique Moisure Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator – I tried this for 2 nights as my nighttime moisturizer before I couldn’t take it anymore. It was thick and sticky on my face, didn’t sink in, and my hair kept sticking to the side of my face. And let’s not talk about my pillowcase. This sucker went back and I got my money back. I’m sure that someone that has really dry skin that just sucks in moisturizers would love this, but that’s not me.

feb-haul-01

Pixi H2O Skindrink & Marcell Ultra Gentle Cleansing Gel (Creamy)

Pixi H2O Skindrink – So far, this is a nice, lightweight hydrating serum. I alternate using this in the morning and nights, depending on what I’m feeling like. It does the job, and I would consider repurchasing, however my Hydraluron does a better job of hydrating my skin for a (slightly) smaller price tag.

Marcelle Ultra Gentle Cleansing Gel (Creamy) – Now we come to the last product, but this is not a case of saving the best for last. The opposite, really.

First, a little explanation about my skincare routine. In the evenings, right after washing my face, I exfoliate with a chemical exfoliator (currently Pixi Glow Tonic). I have been using the Glow Tonic since early January, and other than a light pinkness on my skin which disappears 2-3 minutes later*, I have had no problem with this routine. I switch up cleansers, serums and moisturizers frequently, and have never had a problem.

Until this cleanser. I don’t know what was in it, but my best guess is that something in here stripped something protective off my skin, or it left a residue that interacted with something else, because the first time I went in with the Glow Tonic my skin started to sting. I waved it off because everything I’ve read about Glow Tonic says it’s supposed to sting a little, and while this was the first time I had felt it, it wasn’t too bad – I’ve had worse from The Body Shop’s seaweed clay mask. The second day, I did the same thing, but this time my skin went bright red and burned.  The next morning, the skin on the apples of my cheeks and across my cheekbones still looked red and they were textured.

I apparently gave myself a mild chemical burn with the Glow Tonic. My skin felt tight and hot all day, and it prompted me to go out after work (and after the worst makeup day I’ve had in over a year) to find something mild and soothing I could slather on my face and make it feel better. I came back with this:

TBS aloe

The Body Shop – Aloe Soothing Rescue Cream Mask & Aloe Calming Toner

I went in and did long, loooong masks with this stuff, and used the toner instead of acids for about 4 days. My skin is now back to normal, but this was an adventure I would have rather not had.

That being said, this cleanser is actually not that bad, if you don’t follow it up with a chemical exfoliator. I’ve been using this the past few days as my morning cleanser, and it works fine for that, mostly because I don’t exfoliate in the mornings.

Moral of this story – weird stuff happens with new products.

And that’s it. This whole update got way longer than I intended – I’ll try to keep it shorter in the future.

How have your recent purchases turned out? Any regrets? New favourites? Let me know.

— Ella

*You’re supposed to go pink/red at this step, because you’re using an acid, but it goes away fairly quickly. It’s not a sign that something’s wrong.

3 thoughts on “Update: Unexpected Haulage – 3 Weeks Later

  1. Too bad the Clinique Moisure Surge didn’t work for you! Sticky skincare is a no no – did they expect you to sleep sitting up? 😛

    Ouch on the Glow Tonic! So weird that using the Marcelle cleanser caused that… you’re right, it could be stripping your skin of a protective barrier beforehand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t like sticky anything on my face – it’s why I hate lipgloss. My hair *always* gets stuck to my lips, and then there’s lipgloss on my hair, and if I’m not careful it hits my face and then I have lipgloss lines all over my face.
      It’s just a disaster. I don’t know how so many people can wear it. Is there some lipgloss magic I never learned?
      I looked up every ingredient in that Marcelle cleanser, and I still don’t know what happened. But as long as I don’t use an acid exfoliator after it, I’m good.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah sticky lip gloss are no good. Same with some cream blushes. My hair is always plastered to my cheeks when I wear cream blushes.
        Very puzzling about the cleanser…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

