Empties #1 – March 2017

Here we go! I managed to use up a bunch of stuff recently (mostly skincare and samples), so here’s my trash!!

mar-2017-title

I noticed as I was photographing the products, that I have a lot of First Aid Beauty in here. I think I can accurately label FAB as the gateway drug of skincare.

mar-2017-05

First Aid Beauty –

Fist Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Oil-Free Mattifying Gel C$37– I purchased this back in October as it was recommended as a great daytime moisturizer for people with combo/oily skin. They were wrong! This is too heavy and thick to wear during the day, and I was never able to get it to sink in enough, so I was always left with a sticky feeling on my skin afterwards. After the first day or two, I started using this as my evening moisturizer, and it worked adequately for that. But it took forever to use up. I’ve never been so happy to hear that ‘pht’ sound that heralds the nearing end of a tube product.

Repurchase: No

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydrating Serum (full size & deluxe sample) C$45 – I originally got a deluxe sample of this as a 100pt perk at Sephora, as it was a recommendation for dehydrated skin. I loved it so much, I ended up buying the full size at the last VIB sale and keeping the sample for emergency/travel purposes. I started using this morning and night, and it ran out quickly – and due to the airless pump, you don’t know it’s done until you only get that sputtered half pump of product we all dread. The product itself is a clear gel that sinks in beautifully, leaving the skin smooth and dry once it’s sunk in. I did like how this worked to hydrate my skin, I’m just wishing for a slightly lower price tag, as I went through it so quickly.

Repurchase: Maybe – I’m really liking my Hydraluron from Indeed Labs, which is only $25, and does a slightly better job.

mar-2017-04

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads; The Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads (C$18.50/28 pads or  C$37/60 pads) – Yet another FAB product. When I revamped my skincare in January, these were recommended as a good low budget/beginners product when it came to acid exfoliation. I’d used BHAs before, but salicylic acid never really does anything for my skin, so I decided to try out the super gentle version of AHA exfoliators. I went for the 28 pad size, mostly for the price. Overall they’re not bad, and I did notice my skin was softer/smoother when I used them on a daily basis. I’ve currently moved on to Pixi’s Glow Tonic as my go-to exfoliator, so I don’t see myself buying these again, but they will definitely do in a pinch, and they are especially travel friendly.

Repurchase: Maybe-Likely

The Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter C$16 – I haven’t tried the Clinique cleansing balm, but I heard that this was a great alternative. I do love it. I was really into taking my makeup off with oil, but this has the benefits of a cleansing oil, with only a fraction of the mess. A small amount is enough to cover my entire face, and there is no obnoxious smell that will guarantee I get a migraine. The $16 price tag might seem slightly high for only 90ml of product, but I bought this when TBS had their Buy 3 get 2 Free event. Great time to stock up on products like this, and as they have promotions like this often, this is when I would be repurchasing.

Repurchase: Yes – in fact, I have a couple backups already

mar-2017-03

Sample Time!!

LaNeige Multiberry Yogurt Repairing Mask – I bought this as part of a LaNeige 2-pack that sucked me in as I waited in the aisle of doom in Sephora (you all know what I’m talking about). For $8 I got small samples of this mask and the Water Sleeping Mask. I’m still working my way through the sleeping mask, but repairing mask was much easier to use up. I got 8-10 uses out of this, and it was actually a pleasant experience to use this. It has a sweet not-quite-yogurt smell that is hard to describe, but not off-putting in any way. I currently have another sample of this that I received in a Sephora skincare bag, which I’m using up. I don’t know if this actually did anything, but it was nice to use.

Repurchase: Maybe, but likely not.

Origins Maskimizer Skin-Optimizing Mask Primer C$27 – This is described as ‘a skin-optimizing pre-treatment for masking’. Yeah. It does nothing. It’s a spritz you put on before you apply a mask. That does nothing. Don’t waste your money.

Repurchase: No

Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid C$49 – This is a hydrating liquid that’s designed to seal and protect dull, dry skin. I liked it, it did help my skin feel more hydrated throughout the day. I used this in conjunction with the FAB Hydrating Serum and loved how my skin looked all day. I’ve been toying with picking this up at the next VIB sale, as you do get a decent amount for the price.

Repurchase: Likely

mar-2017-02

I feel like we’re getting in to the Samples of Shame here…

Bioderma Hydrabio Serum C$35 – Over the holidays, I decided to try out the Hydrobio line from Bioderma, so picked up a gift set for about $29, that contained a full size of the gel-cream, the Atoderm repairing cream and this. I tried this once and it went directly into the empties/trash container. I don’t know how it performs or if it really is good for dehydrated skin, because it has a very strong fragrance (added fragrance!!) that I knew was going to set off a migraine if I used it at the wrong time. I could smell it on my face for the next 2 hours, which is how long I was able to stand it before I had to wash my face again.

Repurchase: NO!

REN Instant Firming Beauty Shot C$65 – This left a thick, sticky film on my skin. It went directly into the empties/trash bin.

Repurchase: No

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate C$79 – Again, another product with added fragrance. This smells like what you would expect an expensive skin care product to smell like. Unfortunately, it’s not one I can handle.

Repurchase: No

mar-2017-01

drybar Sake Bomb Nourishing Shampoo and Conditioner C$30 for each – This was one of my free samples on a Sephora order. I didn’t have high hopes for these, but I’ve been surprised before. Unfortunately, this was not one of those times. The scent was not overwhelming or migraine-inducing, but it did linger on the hair until the next wash, so it’s a scent you’d better like. My biggest problem was that these 2 combined weighed my hair down. I have fine, coloured hair and a lot of it, so when a product weighs it down, it feels like I’m wearing a hair-hat that hasn’t been washed in 3 weeks. It was not pleasant.

Repurchase: No

Belif The True Cream – Aqua Bomb C$47 – I got about a dozen of these samples from the Face Shop over the last few months, and I milked them for all they were worth. There’s a light scent, but I don’t find it lingers, so I’m good on that front.

Repurchase: Yes, I did.

Clinique Pep-Start Hydroblur Moisturizer C$39 – I tested this out during one of my Sephora wanders and liked the texture on the back of my hand. I didn’t get a sample then because I was sure I had one back home, and I did. It did blur my pores and lines a little, and I’m sure it would have been even better under makeup, however it left my face sticky. That is exactly what I don’t want in a daytime moisturizer.

Repurchase: No

Well, that’s it for my first empties post. The next one will contain some actual makeup products, but I find it’s much harder to use up makeup than skincare.

Now I can go and finally through these all out.

Yes!

7 thoughts on “Empties #1 – March 2017

  1. Idk if you’d be interested but Body Shop is doing 40% off right now on some products and I saw that cleansing butter as part of the promotion! PLUS FREE SHIPPING. Definitely considered it and might go back and make a second purchase for it HAHA great review

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That FAB oil-free gel doesn’t sound very good. I would have used it up as a hand or foot cream myself! 😉
    I tried Hydraluron ages ago and recalled it left a sticky film on my face. It worked fine but I wasn’t keen on the film.
    Glad TBS Camomile Cleansing Butter is working well for you! If you do get a chance to try the Clinique one though, do give it a whirl. I find it works better than TBS one. And no fragrance.
    The Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid sound wonderful – never heard of it before. Uh oh. 😛
    The Belif The True Cream Aqua Bomb is on my wish list… sounds so good from every review I’ve read.
    Awesome job with the empties!

    Like

    • I think Hydraluron works really well for dehydrated skin, especially if you put it on just before your moisturizer.
      I have trouble with products sinking in to my skin, especially thick creams and gels. But this is inly a recent discovery, so I have a back stock of moisturizers to get through.
      I will definitely be trying out the Clinique balm once I run out of TBS balm.
      And I’m really loving the aqua bomb. There are so many hydrating ingredients in it, that the alcohol doesn’t even bother me. 👍

      Like

Leave a Reply

