Mascara Monday: CoverGirl The Super Sizer Mascara

If this is your first time here, Welcome!

Mascara Monday is a series I started to test out drugstore mascaras in an effort to find out which ones are worth the money. I wear them (almost) every day for a week, and see how they hold up throughout the day and week.

A more in depth explanation and a list of previous mascaras tested can be found here.

This week I put CoverGirl’s The Super Sizer mascara to the test.

covergirl-supersizer-01

I had heard about this from many beauty gurus on YouTube, so decided to test it out for myself.

Where to Buy: This mascara is readily available in any drugstore/department store that carries CoverGirl. As CG is one of the big mainstream cosmetics retailers, they’re relatively easy to come by (in North America, at least.) I purchased this one at Shoppers Drug Mart for around $8. Prices can vary depending on where and when you purchase it.

Description: The tube is a standard flat-ended tube in turquoise with green-gold lettering. Not the most eye-catching, but at least it’s distinctive. It also doesn’t look like you could stab someone with the pointy end of the tube, so there’s that. 🙂

covergirl-supersizer-02

Wand: The wand is easily the most distinctive aspect of this mascara. It’s a plastic wand, but instead of the traditional brush style, it’s more flattened out. There are bristles on 2 sides, with nothing in the middle. From what I understand, the empty areas are a sort of reservoir to hold more mascara, which you can then use to brush though the lashes, without having to go back in for more.

covergirl-supersizer-03

Formula: The formula is actually pretty good on this one. It starts at the right consistency, and goes on great at initial application. It’s not a watery or wet mascara, so you feel like you can actually make facial expressions without worrying that you’ll get black spots all over your newly applied eyeshadow, or under your bottom lash line if you happen to sneeze 30 sec after it’s applied. (Yes, this had happened repeatedly. I can’t be the only one.)

Application: I found this worked best by brushing the bristles through the lashes to start with, getting a good base coat of the mascara on the lashes. Then start rolling the wand (like you would with Benefit’s Roller Lash, if anyone has tried that one). The point is to get the mascara from that reservoir onto the lashes, then using the bristles to brush the mascara through the lashes. I have to say, this gives me great lashes. My lashes are bold, long and there! Which is really all I want from a mascara…..well, that and no crumbling/flaking.

Wear Time: This was a hard one to determine. I have tried this one in the past, and I remember I was amazed that I had no fallout all day. This time around, I was getting crumbling and flaking as the day went on, but it was never consistent. Some days I had fallout 3-4 hours in, other days I wouldn’t notice anything until I got home and found black dust in the corner of my undereyes. (I’ve been using a very emollient eye cream at nights recently, and I think this may have something to do with it – I’ll likely retest this mascara when I finally run out of the never-ending eye cream.)

At the end of the day: I had fallout every day, though I should mention that some of my days ended at hour 14, which I think is decent wear.

Days Worn: 6 of 7 days

Rating: 7.5/10

Next Week …. for all my Canadian peeps –>Joe Fresh Lash Plump volumizing mascara!

4 thoughts on “Mascara Monday: CoverGirl The Super Sizer Mascara

  1. Hmm interesting you had mixed results with this. For me, it was a big learning curve with that floppy wand. I was smearing mascara all over my lids! But once I got the hang of it, I really love it. The formula wore really well for me – in fact, so much so that I took it on my Mediterranean cruise to Greece and Turkey because I knew it would withstand the heat and humidity – and it did!
    And yes, I’ve totally sneezed right after I’ve applied mascara while it’s still wet. UGH.
    Looking forward to seeing the Joe Fresh mascara – I haven’t tried theirs yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m going to have to do a test where I go for a couple days without using eye cream, because I think that may be what’s causing the mascara to crumble – I wore some mascara recently that I don’t usually have a problem with, and it started to crumble as well. Either I’m not washing the night eye cream off well enough in the morning, or the morning eye cream is causing issues. Or it could be something completely different.
      And the Joe Fresh is interesting so far. 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

