Products to use up in 2017 – Intro

2017-intro-title

One of the things I wanted to focus on this year, was fully using up products I already own, rather than trashing them when they went bad.

I also have several favourite products that fell by the wayside when I moved on to a new one, but are still only half-empty.

So, instead of doing a February favourites post, I decided to write about the products I have that I want to be done with by the end of 2017.

I’ll try to do updates every 2-3 months, see how I’m doing on them, and decide if I need to refocus on one or more products.

Without further ado, here’s my list of products I want to use up in 2017!

2017-intro-fresh-cerave

Fresh Sugar Lychee Body Lotion; CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion.

Fresh Sugar Lychee Body Lotion – I bought this recently, and seeing as I have a whole host of other body moisturizers waiting to be used, I thought I would focus on getting the most expensive one done and out. It has a nice light scent that doesn’t throw me head first into a migraine, and sinks in nicely. I think this one might take me awhile because it doesn’t have enough moisturization for winter dehydrated skin, but it should do well once my skin turns in April, and I start drinking water all day, rather than coffee.

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion (PM) – This is one of the good ones, though more for ingredients than actual formula. It’s got a great ingredient deck, and is a good moisturizer for my combo skin, but it’s a little too heavy (even for a gel-based formula) and leaves my skin a little sticky, no matter how much I try to rub it in. I do want to use it up, and believe I can get this one out of the way by the end of the year.

2017-intro-drybar-mac

drybar Prep Rally; MAC Paint Pot (Vintage Selection)

drybar Prep Rally Prime & Prep Detangler – I was looking for a good leave-in conditioner after I finished off a deluxe sample from another brand, and this popped up right in front of me in Sephora. It leaves my hair lightweight and fluffy on those days I use a more instensive shampoo and my normal condition will be too much, or I’m in too much of a rush to use conditioner. However, it can leave my hair ‘too’ light sometimes, in the ‘flies all over; frizzy; static-y’ way. We’ll see how it does in the summer when there’s more humidity in the air, but I still would like to be finished this by the end of 2017.

MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot (Vintage Selection) – In one of my early visits to MAC, I was looking over the paint pots and found this beautiful cream shadow. It’s a nice beige-vanilla-pink shimmer, and works great for an everyday eye look for me. However, it’s easily over 1 1/2 years old at this point, and I want to use it up before it dries out completely.

2017-intro-fresh-katvond

Fresh Sugar Cream Lip Treatment (Blush); Kat Von D Lock-it Concealer Creme (L9 Neutral)

Fresh Sugar Cream Lip Treatment (Blush) – I found this in Sephora when they had just launched, and purchased it before I remembered that I hate lip gloss, which is essentially what this product is. I ended up keeping it because it’s a great lip moisturizer, and will leave my lips soft and smooth for hours after it’s worn off. However … I really hate lip glosses. I’ll use this up because it was pricey, but will definitely not repurchase it.

Kat Von D Locki-it Concealer Creme (L9 Neutral) – I actually have the L7 shade of this, but it’s too light for me (if you can believe it). L9 is one that I’ve been using on those semi-rare occasions that I actually attempt to use concealer. I really want to try out another concealer, but I can’t justify buying another one when I have 2 full tubes and use it infrequently. It’s hard to see how much has been used already as it’s a very thick concealer and the black of the packaging blocks a lot, but I can confirm that it is not much.

2017-intro-covergirl-lauramercier

CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation (910 – Classic Ivory); Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder (in a different, smaller container)

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation (910-classic ivory) – Currently this shade is too dark for me, but once I get a little tan on, this one will be my go to summer/fall foundation. It’s in this list because due to the SPF in it, it has an expiry date of November 2017. I want to be done, or mostly done, by then.

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder – I originally purchased this during the Sephora VIB sale either last April or the previous November (I honestly can’t remember). It’s a great powder that I use every day, and I love setting my makeup with it as it really does blur and smooth out everything, but I have the Kat Von D powder waiting in the wings that I would like to use. I don’t bake, so this will take me longer to use up than some others, but I’m positive I can finish it off by the end of the year. I have about 1/3 – 1/4 of the original amount of product left.

(You’ll note that in the picture, this powder is not in the original container. A couple months after I purchased it, the grooved ring that the lid screws onto started crumbling and powder was falling out all over the place. I switched it to an empty container that used to house a Body Shop finishing powder. It’s half the size as the original jar, but since I’d used up about half the product, it fit just fine.)

2017-intro-mac-sephora

Left: MAC Satin Lipstick (Amorous); Sephora Rouge Gel Lip Liner (03 – Rose Wine) Right: Swatches – lip liner (top); lipstick (bottom)

Sephora Rough Gel Lip Liner (03-Rose Wine) – I really do love the colour, formula and packaging of this liner, but I have so many lip liners in my collection, that I need to use some up before I buy any more. This is a colour I would easily wear on a daily basis for work and going out, so I don’t foresee a problem in getting this one used up. I would have shown how much I have left to use, but the one downside to this liner is the packaging – the twist up is suuuuuper slow. My hand got tired after about 2 minutes of twisting and only got about 3 cm of product for my effort. (And then I had to twist it all back down. Grrrr.)

MAC Satin Lipstick (Amorous) – This one was chosen as it’s the MAC lipstick that’s been most used in my collection. I like MAC lipsticks as they tend to last longer on my lips than other brands. Amorous is a deep pinky-red that is a great everyday colour for me, so it should be easily used up by the end of the year. (Also, I really want to see if I can Back to MAC enough for a free lipstick this year.)

2017-intro-buxom

Left: Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick (Acapulco); Right: swatch of Acapulco

Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick (Acapulco) – Another lipstick I’ve had for quite some time and has some serious usage already. It’s a nice cool-toned pinky-mauve that I can get away with wearing on a daily basis. However, it’s been pushed to the back of my collection in the last year, as I find new favourite lip products. It has a slight minty tingle to it, like most of Buxom’s line, which is something I can live with, but I really just want to use it up and get it gone. With enough consistent use, I should be able to accomplish this in a few months.

Well, that’s my starting list of products I definitely want to use up this year.  Do you have anything you want to use up and move on from in your collection?

2 thoughts on “Products to use up in 2017 – Intro

  1. Good luck with this focus! I’ve done a few of these “Project Pan” type of plans and they are really great to force me to use up my opened items. Often they’re products that I really like, just forgotten in favour of newer shinier things. 😉
    I’ve been curious about the CeraVe line – I heard good things about a few of their products.
    I have so many MAC Paint Pots that are OLD and they are still not dried out – I’m impressed!
    That Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous is one of my drugstore favourites – such a nice formula and it doesn’t feel heavy.
    Do you wear a lip liner daily? It’s one of those things I want to get more into but I often forget. I’ve been on a kick lately wearing a MLBB liner and then just lip balm on top.

    Like

    • I’ve been wearing lip liner almost daily for years – I drink so much water/coffee during the day, that most lip products are gone by lunch. I currently have a Mac lip liner that’s down to its last 2 inches.
      Basically, my goal for this whole project is to end up feeling like I haven’t wasted my money. 😁 So I chose products I know I like, and it wont be a hardship to use. (I hope.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

