Mascara Monday: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’

Welcome to Mascara Monday!

This is a series where I try out a drugstore mascara for a week, and let you know what my thoughts are.

I’ve been on the hunt for a good drugstore mascara for years, as many of the ones I’ve tried always seem to crumble and smudge on me. I even have this problem with a lot of the higher end mascaras, though I have found a couple good ones throughout the years.

I’ll keep an updated list here, with a ranking of each one as I progress.

For my fist Mascara Monday, I’ll be testing out Maybelline – The Rocket Volum’ Express.

This was the first mascara I bought based on a recommendation years ago – I believe it was from LeighAnnSays on YouTube. She uses the waterproof version, but that had me hesitant at the beginning as I didn’t want to put something on my lashes that wouldn’t come off easily. I still tend to stay away from waterproof mascara, as I believe a normal mascara should stay on all day without flaking – I shouldn’t need the waterproof formulation to get the performance I want.

(I *have* used waterproof mascara in the intervening years, but I usually have the same problem as with the normal formula. Go figure.)

maybelline-rocket-01

Maybelline – The Rocket Volum’ Express mascara

Where to Buy: I bought this one at Walmart for about C$8, but you can pick these up at any retailer that has a beauty department for C$7-C$9. You can also easily find these on sale, so prices will vary depending on where and when you decide to pick this up.

Description: The packaging itself is a blue bullet shape, which is likely done to emphasize the ‘Rocket’ in the name, and not for any ergonomic/dispensing reasons.

maybelline-rocket-02

Maybelline – The Rocket Volum’ Express mascara tube & wand.


Wand:

The wand has a fat, plastic brush head with small bristles. It doesn’t grab too much product when you pull it from the tube, but if it does the excess is on the end which can easily be wiped off on the rim of the tube.

Formula: It’s a generic mascara formula, which I think relies more on the wand for application than anything. It starts out as a wetter formula, and I know from past experience that as it dries out it becomes thicker and harder to wield.

Application: The wand is too round and fat for me to get much volume built up easily, and the bristles are too short to get much product built up quickly. It takes me multiple coats to get my lashes looking good, and trying for the bottom lashes is an exercise in futility. The wand is also not very good for getting those pesky inner or outer corner lashes – it’s just too fat to avoid smudging wet mascara on your nicely applied eye makeup.

Wear Time: 4-5 hours. This is when I look in the mirror and realize that I have black powder appearing under my lower lash line. As the hours progress it gets worse, and by the 8-10 hour mark, I crumbling and smudging have formed a ring under my eyes – it does horrible things to my already dark under eyes.

At the end of the day: Black, crumbly dust under both eyes that make you look like you got punched in the face.

Days worn: 2 – I couldn’t take the crumbling and smudging any longer. Usually a mascara will put up a good front for a few days before I start to see fallout, but this one decided to start of as if it were 4 weeks into usage.

Rating: 3/10

Next week … CoverGirl’s The Super Sizer

4 thoughts on “Mascara Monday: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’

  1. I don’t wear waterproof mascaras either – they irritate my eyes and I lose my lashes trying to remove them! 😛
    Hrm this is quite disappointing! I’ve found most Maybelline mascaras to smudge terribly on me.
    My favourite mascaras are from CoverGirl – I am crossing my fingers you’ll like the Super Sizer. A word of warning – the wand is really bendy and there’s a bit of a learning curve to that one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

