Unexpected Haulage

feb-haul-titleSo, I made a spur of the moment trip to the Rideau Centre, and came back with a bag full of loot.

I don’t know why I’m surprised.

I hit Shoppers, The Face Shop and MAC, but managed to avoid Sephora. See, I do have some will power! (Not a lot, but some…)

Here’s how it all sorted out…

Shoppers: 

feb-haul-01

Pixi H2O Skindrink; Marcelle Ultra Gentle Cleansing Gel.

Pixi H2O Skindrink (C$30)– I originally hit up Shoppers to check out the new-ish Pixi display, because the last few times I strolled on by, they were still missing about half their products. Surprise, surprise! It was (mostly) full. I picked this up based on a recommendation in a recent video of the lovely Caroline Hirons for dehydrated skin, and had to try it.

Marcelle Ultra Gentle Cleansing Gel (Creamy) (C$12.95) – On my way through the makeup aisles, I passed by the Marcelle display and remembered that I’d been wanting to try out one of their cleansers. I have revamped my skin care regime, and am always looking for non-SLS/SLES cleansers that leave my skin feeling clean and not tight/dry. Budget cleansers are hard to find, as they usually use some kind of sulfated surfactant, which my dehydrated skin does not like.

feb-haul-02

Essie Gel Couture nail polish in Gala-vanting (350) & Top Coat (00); Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortigying Hydrator.

Essie Gel Couture Top Coat (00) & Gala-Vanting (350) (C$10) – Right next to the Pixi display were the nail polishes, and I was ecstatic to see that their Gel Couture colours were on sale for $9.99 – these are normally $14.99 in Shoppers/Rexall, and haven’t shown up in Walmart yet. The entire display was pretty picked over, but I managed to find a top coat and nice raspeberry red colour called Gala-vanting.

Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator (C$46) – since I was using the last of my Christmas pre-paid Visa cards for this shopping expedition, I decided to check out Clinique’s Moisture Surge line. I wanted a night moisturizer that would help my dehydrated skin, and had heard good things about this line. There were 2 moisturizers, this one and the Moisture Surge Extended Thirst. I opted for the one with far fewer ingredients, which was the Intense – seriously, there’s only 10 ingredients and none of them are on my ‘to-be-avoided’ list.

The Face Shop:

feb-haul-03

Herb Day 365 (acerola); Belif The true cream – aqua bomb, Hungarian water essence & creamy cleansing foam moist.

Belif The True Cream – Aqua Bomb (C$47) – I was disappointed when Sephora.ca dropped the Belif brand, as I had just tried a sample of the Aqua Bomb and liked it. I was overjoyed when I realized the Face Shop had picked them up, as I had just started to understand the whole dehydrated skin thing, and this was a recommendation from several sources. I had a $5 off bounce back coupon from The Face Shop from when I bought something back in December/early-January, and used it against this purchase. Since I had been rationing my samples of this moisturizer, I decided to bite the bullet and buy it.

Added incentive – there was a free gift of deluxe samples of the Hungarian Water Essence (which I’d been really wanting to try) and the Creamy Cleansing Foam Moist (another cleanser – yay!).

Herb Day 365 Cleansing Foam in Acerola (C$6) – Generally I try to stay away from any cleanser that has the word ‘foam’ in it, as that’s a sure sign that there’s something that will dry out my skin, however looking over the ingredients I didn’t see anything that would cause me problems. Granted, I’m not a trained esthetician or chemist, but nothing from my ‘to-be-avoided’ list was present, so we’ll see how it goes. Also, it smells faintly like candied cherries.

Finally, MAC:

mac-lipstick-reto

MAC Satin Lipstick – Retro – in bullet & swatch

MAC Satin Lipstick in Retro (C$21) – So I saw a post on another blog (can’t remember which one) that had swatches of some nude lipsticks, one of which was Velvet Teddy, and I became intrigued. Once I finally found it among the intimidating MAC lipstick tower/shelf-thing, I decided it wasn’t for me, but amongst all my swatching, I discovered this lovely reddish colour with a hint of brown, in a satin finish. I decided that it must come home with me.

It should be noted that the reason I didn’t buy Velvet Teddy was because the colour looked very familiar. I swatched it against my NUDESTIX Intense Matte pencil in Purity (which I had in my pocket), and it was THE. EXACT. SAME. COLOUR.

I have now found my first dupe for a MAC lipstick. Though the lipstick would be a better buy, as you’d get more product for less $$. I will keep this in mind for when I inevitably finish my NUDESTIX pencil.

Thus concludes my unexpected haulage. I am determined that this will be the last one until the Sephora sale in April. We’ll see how well I do.

What have you spent your money on recently? Anything to recommend?

3 thoughts on “Unexpected Haulage

  1. Unexpected hauls are the best! 😛
    I’ve been itching to trying something from Pixi but I’m on a No-Buy until April! I hope you’ll like that Skindrink. Same with the Belif products but I have to stop myself – in due time.
    The Essie Gel Coutour system is fantastic! The top coat works well with other non-Essie polishes too, FYI.
    Last time I went to the MAC counter, I took a baggy of my most used MLBB type shades so that I wouldn’t duplicate a colour. I seem to keep buying the same shade over and over in different brands! So glad you avoided that trap.

    Like

    • I totally get the ‘buying the same lipstick colour over and over again’. That’s why I have about a dozen raspberry reds and mauvey pinks in my collection.
      So far I’ve liked most of the Pixi stuff I’ve tried, except the Lip Lift Max – it’s essentially a slightly (very slightly) less expensive Buxom lip gloss (sting and all). And I hate lip glosses.
      I’m planning to do an update post in another week or 2, cause I had a major fail in 1 of the products which caused me to break my attempt at a no-buy. But I’m consoling myself with the fact that it was a necessary purchase.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Update: Unexpected Haulage – 3 Weeks Later | A Pocketful of Lipstick

Leave a Reply

