Surprise Favourites – Products I didn’t think I would love

 

 

We’ve all done it – we see a product on the shelf and think ‘eh, why not’ and add it to your basket, figuring you’ve just wasted your money.

Then you get home, eventually try it, and go ‘YES!!!!! THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER!’. (Or maybe you’re more restrained than I am. 😏)

These are a couple of my surprise favourites. (Yes, I have a Sephora addiction. No, this is not news to anyone.)

1) GOSH Natural Blush – 36 Rose Whisper (Shoppers Drug Mart – CA$16)

I picked this up in Shoppers one day, and it quickly became my go-to blush (as you can tell by the amount of visible pan showing). I’d been drawn to darker blushes for some time, but decided to try a more natural one. The dusty rose colour did give me some pause as it didn’t swatch the best, but I decided to take the plunge and add to my ever-growing blush collection. It’s not a highly pigmented blush, but it’s nice and smooth, giving a nice wash of rosy colour to the cheeks, but can be easily built up if desired. On my fair skin, this actually comes out on the darker side, but it’s natural enough that it works really well.

2) NUDESTIX Intense Matte Lip & Cheek Pencil – Purity (website/Sephora CA$28)

It took me awhile to work up the nerve to buy one of these due to the price, but I’m very glad I did. For years I’ve been looking for a ‘my lips but better’ lipstick, but thanks to very pale skin and weirdly coloured natural lips, it’s been a rough road. Everything looks too brown or too pink on me. Then I found Purity, with the perfect balance of brown/nude/pink in a matte formula and I fell in love. When I’m heading somewhere and want the no-makeup makeup look, this is the lip colour I always use because it’s perfect for a natural lip on me.

living-proof-phd

Living Proof – Perfect Hair Day 5-in-1 Styling Treatment

3) Living Proof Perfect Hair Day 5-in-1 styling treatment (Sephora CA$36)

I’ve always had trouble finding products that work with my fine hair. Most shampoos and styling products just weigh it down and leave my hair feeling oily and heavy after a couple of hours, and since I have coloured hair I don’t like to wash my hair every single day. I add about a dime sized amount to towel dried hair before I blow dry, and if I’m ever in a hurry and forget to use it, there is a notable difference in my hair. With PHD 5-in-1 my hair is soft and manageable, stray frizz is mostly gone, and my hair feels light and airy. I end up with good hair for 2 days. It’s amazing!

I originally got this as a free deluxe sample from Sephora, which took me 3 months of regular use to use up. I then went for the travel size, which took me another 8 months to use up. I then decided to splurge during the VIB Rouge sale and buy the full size – I have now been using this same bottle for nearly a year and a half, and there’s still easily another 4-6 months worth of product left in here. Money well spent, I say.

formulax-exquisite

Formula X – Exquisite

4) Formula X Nail Colour – Exquisite (Sephora – discontinued *sucks* )

This one might seem a little odd, seeing as Sephora is discontinuing their Formula X line, and this colour is no longer available on the Sephora.ca website, but I thought I’d mention it, in case anyone wants to pick up some of their cream colours that are still available. This is a beautiful pinky-purple colour that I just love (as you can tell by the half-empty bottle), and while it does take 2 coats to get complete coverage, once I put a top coat on, it lasts for a good 7 days. This was the first nail polish I found that did that, which is why it became an instant favourite for me. (Unlike their metallic mattes collection, which chipped inside 6 hours, I kid you not.)

FAB hydrating serum.jpg

First Aid Beauty – Ultra Repair Hydrating Serum

5) First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydrating Serum (Sephora CA$45)

I love this serum. If you have dehydrated skin, this will be your best friend, your skin will love you, and your foundation will be so much less cakey. This hydrating serum is designed to be applied between cleansing and moisturizing. It’s a lightweight, water-based gel serum that sinks into the skin beautifully, no matter the skin type. My dehydrated skin loves this stuff, and it sinks in completely without leaving that sticky residue behind. Dehydrated skin responds really well to water-based hydrating products, rather than oil-based – because the skin is thirsty, not dry. Trust me, there’s a difference.

What are some of your surprise favourites?

2 thoughts on “Surprise Favourites – Products I didn’t think I would love

  1. I’ve been very curious about NudeStix – their collection selection always draw me in! I also love that they’re Canadian. 😀
    And wow, look at all that pan on the GOSH blush! I bow down to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

