Review – MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

In December, I noticed that I had lost the last of my summer tan (what little of it I had), and consequently all my foundations/BB creams were too dark. Since they were all (for the most part) the lightest in their respective lines, I had to suss out a new foundation from somewhere.

I took this as an opportunity to go for a higher end foundation, as all but 1 of my liquid foundations had been drugstore. I’d already sampled my way through the majority of what Sephora had on offer, so I headed to MAC.

Excellent decision on my part, if I do say so.

I came out with MAC Pro Longwear Foundation in shade NW13 (buy online/MAC stores & counters – CA$40 for 30ml)

mac-prolongwearx

MAC Pro Longwear Foundation – NW13

Packaging: Clear glass bottle with a pump.

Description/Claims: From the MAC website

“A comfortable, long-wearing foundation that gives medium coverage with a natural matte finish and up to 15 hours of wear in any environmental condition. Lightweight and creamy, it applies and blends easily leaving the skin feeling soft and free to breathe all day while controlling oil. Specially treated micronized pigments help give a smoother, more flawless, natural matte finish with stay-true colour.”

I do have to agree that it is very long-wearing. I often have my makeup on for 10-15 hours at a time, and this foundation doesn’t slide around on me. Some foundations can slide around on my face, often pooling in the pores (and isn’t that an attractive look…), but this one doesn’t budge or dry me out. My t-zone does still get oily, but not the usual foundation/oil sludge mess I’m used to. However, this could be either due to the time of the year, the foundation or the primers I put underneath. Either way, I’m loving this right now.

Skin Types: I would say this is good for most skin types. I’ve never had dry skin, but this seems like it would have enough moisture for those people, and normal skin should have no trouble. I currently have combination skin and it works well with a primer, but we’ll see how it works in the summer when my face turns into an oily mess on a daily basis.

I should mention I did get lots of dryness/cakiness when I first wore it, but that sorted itself out once I got the right primer base under it. (I’ll go into that in a future post.)

Application: It can be applied with either a brush or a makeup sponge, though I favour the beauty blender, as that is what I’m most comfortable with. However, I would suggest using a brush with this foundation, for reasons that become clear in a moment.
Pros:

  • Light-weight foundation that covers the slight redness on my cheeks
  • Not heavy feeling on my skin.
  • It dries down very quickly, leaving a semi-matte finish behind.
  • My skin looks like skin, and still looks great at the end of the day.

Cons:

  • It stays slightly tacky/sticky, even after it sets. I have to add a powder, or it will be bugging me all day.
  • It hates my beauty blender. Or rather, I hate what it does to my beauty blender. This foundation DOES NOT COME OUT. I’ve washed the stupid thing a dozen times with a bunch of different soaps/cleansers, but have only been able to get the top layer of the sponge clean. The foundation that’s found its way further down is stuck there, looking like a really disgusting brown bruise. When it’s dry, I can actually feel the foundation trapped in there.

Final Thoughts: Overall, it’s a good foundation, and the downsides are not enough for me to stop using it. (Though I might want to figure out how to use a brush for application, and save my new beauty blender an ignoble death by foundation.)

Repurchase: Likely, especially if I can find out how to get it out of my beauty blender. (Any thoughts?)

3 thoughts on “Review – MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

  1. I tried this in a sample but didn’t care for it due to the tacky finish you described – it’s similar to the corresponding concealer.
    As for the Beauty Blender sponge – my 2 top cleansers are Dawn dish detergent and Daiso Sponge cleaner:
    https://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=156007/Sponge-Detergent/Daiso/Misc-Beauty-Tools
    http://www.ratzillacosme.com/makeup/best-pick-daiso-puff-sponge-detergent/
    It’s honestly the best thing ever – I stocked up 5 bottles so I’ll never be without it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

