Hello, World!

I’ve been considering what my first post is going to be, and I think I’ll just do some randomness about me to get started.

I live in Ottawa, the Nation’s Capital, and I really do love this city. People call this city the world’s biggest small town, and it’s true. Everybody knows everybody in some way. There’s pretty much only a 2-3 degree of separation among the entire population of Ottawa. (It likely comes from this being a government town with lots of turnover and job shifting – a lot of people move between business and government frequently, and their networks of ‘people you know’ just get bigger.)

Ottawa in winter

As I said in my About Me page, I am pale as pale can be. I’m not even joking. In December, I realized that I had finally lost the last of my tan (light though it was), and that all of my foundations were 1-2 shades too dark for me. This posed a problem as I was the lightest shage in all of them. I bit the bullet and went to MAC. I came out with NW13 in the Pro Longwear Foundation. Turns out it was a good move, because it looks amazing on me – once I got the primer situation sorted out, at least.

I also found a blush at that time, in a shade that only works on super pale girls like me. I’ve been wearing it every day since I got it. (Note to self: do a post about pale girl makeup. I can’t be the only ghost in town.)

When I’m not scouring Sephora, YouTube, blogs and Instagram for new and new-to-me makeup, I can be found reading a metric ton of fan fiction, or watching way too much Netflix. I am totally addicted to the SciFi genre, whether TV, movies or books. If you can find me a show or movie that involves kicking ass and blowing stuff up, I’m there. Put it on a spaceship, an alien planet or some fantasy world, and I’m in heaven.

So this is where I should probably come out and say I’m a geek. I joke about my friends who go to LAN parties, but I’m right there with them, networking my computer so we can kick some zombie butt and hopefully live through the night. I’ve been to every Ottawa ComicCon we’ve had, and can identify about 60% of all cosplay costumes. (I’m not into Anime, which has me at a disadvantage in some cases.)

I am also incapable of *not* buying something if it’s adorable and geeky. See below for proof…

Avenger’s Lip Smackers (yes, I decapitated Captain America for the picture, but Hulk was too adorable and Black Widow looked like it was too dangerous to my continued existence.)

Well, that’s all for now. I should have something more beauty related in my next post.

Ta for now!

2 thoughts on “Hello, World!

  1. Nice to “meet” you! I enjoyed reading more about you. Ottawa is such a nice city – I used to frequent the city due to a long distance relationship years ago. 🙂
    And now you got me curious about those Avengers Lip Smackers – I saw them at Shoppers but didn’t know their heads came off to reveal the lip balm. #wantnotneed
    😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

